Michigan Minimum Wage Goes Up July 1, 2008 to $7.40
Michigan Minimum Wage Fact Sheet
Michigan's Minimum Wage and Overtime Law covers:
• Employers who employ two or more persons, 16 years-of-age or older, and
• Certain employees in federally-covered businesses because the state minimum wage rate for those employees will be higher than the federally required rate as of October 1, 2006.
In situations where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two minimum wage rates.
Agricultural workers continue to be covered by the state’s minimum wage law.
To read more click here.
Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth, Wage and Hour Division
New York Times
United States Department of Labor, Employment Standards Administration, Wage and Hour Division
Department of Labor Services by Location
Back to From the Reference Desk