Find a Branch
Bedford Branch Library (734) 847-6747
Blue Bush Branch Library (734) 242-4085
Carleton Branch Library (734) 654-2180
Dundee Branch Library (734) 529-3310
Erie Branch Library (734) 848-4420
Frenchtown-Dixie Branch Library (734) 289-1035
Ida Branch Library (734) 269-2191
L.S. Navarre Branch Library (734) 241-5577
Maybee Branch Library (734) 587-3680
Newport Branch Library (734) 586-2117
Rasey Memorial Branch Library (734) 848-4572
Robert A. Vivian Branch Library (734)241-1430
Senior Outreach (734) 241-5770
South Rockwood Branch Library (734) 379-3333
Bedford Branch Library
8575 Jackman Rd. Temperance, MI 48182 Phone: (734) 847-6747
Fax: (734) 847-6591
Sun: 12:00 pm-5:00 pm
Mon - Thu: 9:00 am-9:00 pm
Fri - Sat: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
more information
Blue Bush Branch Library
2210 Blue Bush Road Monroe, MI 48162-9643 Phone: (734) 242-4085
Fax: (734) 242-4085
Mon - Tue: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed: 1:00 pm-8:00 pm
Thu: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Fri: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-2:00 pm
more information
Carleton Branch Library
1444 Kent Street Carleton, MI 48117-0267 Phone: (734) 654-2180
Fax: (734) 654-8767
Mon: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Tue - Wed: 9:00 am-8:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Fri - Sat: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
more information
Dorsch Memorial Branch Library
18 East First Street Monroe, MI 48161-2227 Phone: (734) 241-7878
Fax: (734) 241-7879
Mon - Tue: 9:00 am-8:00 pm
Wed: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Thu: 9:00 am-8:00 pm
Fri - Sat: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
more information
Dundee Branch Library
144 East Main Street Dundee, MI 48131-1202 Phone: (734) 529-3310
Fax: (734) 529-7415
Mon: 9:00 am-6:00 pm
Tue: 10:00 am-8:00 pm
Wed: 9:00 am-6:00 pm
Thu: 10:00 am-8:00 pm
Fri: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-2:00 pm
more information
Ellis Library & Reference Center
3700 South Custer Rd. Monroe 48161-9716 Phone: (734) 241-5277
Toll Free: (800) 462-2050
Fax: (734) 242-9037
Sun: 12:00 pm-5:00 pm
Mon - Thu: 9:00 am-9:00 pm
Fri - Sat: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
more information
Erie Branch Library
2065 Erie Rd. Erie, MI 48133-9757 Phone: (734) 848-4420
Mon: 1:00 pm-8:00 pm
Tue: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Wed: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Thu - Fri: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
more information
Frenchtown-Dixie Branch Library
2881 Nadeau Road Monroe, MI 48162-9355 Phone: (734) 289-1035
Fax: (734) 289-3867
Mon - Tue: 9:00 am-8:00 pm
Wed: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Fri - Sat: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
more information
Ida Branch Library
3016 Lewis Ave. Ida, MI 48140-0056 Phone: (734) 269-2191
Fax: (734) 269-3315
Mon: 10:00 am-8:00 pm
Tue: 10:00 am-6:00 pm
Wed - Fri: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-1:00 pm
more information
L.S. Navarre Branch Library
1135 East Second Street Monroe, MI 48161-1920 Phone: (734) 241-5577
Fax: (734) 241-5577
Mon: 1:00 pm-6:00 pm
Tue: 10:00 am-8:00 pm
Wed - Thu: 1:00 pm-6:00 pm
Fri - Sat: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
more information
Maybee Branch Library
9060 Raisin St. Maybee, MI 48159-0165 Phone: (734) 587-3680
Fax: (734) 587-3680
Mon: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Tue: 12:00 pm-5:00 pm
Thu: 9:00 am-1:00 pm
Fri: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 9:00 am-2:00 pm
more information
Newport Branch Library
8120 N. Dixie Hwy. Newport, MI 48166-9703 Phone: (734) 586-2117
Fax: (734) 586-1116
Mon: 12:00 pm-6:00 pm
Tue: 10:00 am-8:00 pm
Wed: 10:00 am-6:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Fri: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-2:00 pm
more information
Rasey Memorial Branch Library
4349 Oak, Box 416 Luna Pier, MI 48157-4572 Phone: (734) 848-4572
Fax: (734) 848-4572
Mon: 9:00 am-1:00 pm
Tue - Wed: 2:00 pm-8:00 pm
Thu: 9:00 am-1:00 pm
Fri: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat: 9:00 am-1:00 pm
more information
Robert A. Vivian Branch Library
2664 Vivian Road Monroe, MI 48162-9212 Phone: (734)241-1430
Fax: (734)241-1430
Mon: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Wed: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Thu: 9:00 am-2:00 pm
Fri: 12:00 pm-5:00 pm
more information
Senior Outreach
South Rockwood Branch Library
5676 Carleton Rockwood Road S. Rockwood, MI 48179 Phone: (734) 379-3333
Fax: (734) 749-7485
Mon: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Tue: 1:00 pm-6:00 pm
Wed: 1:00 pm-8:00 pm
Thu: 1:00 pm-6:00 pm
Fri: 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sat: 9:00 am-1:00 pm
more information
Summerfield-Petersburg Branch Library
60 East Center St. Petersburg, MI 49270 Phone: (734) 279-1025
Fax: (734) 279-2328
Mon - Tue: 10:00 am-7:00 pm
Wed - Thu: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm
Fri: 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am-1:00 pm
more information
Dec
11
5:30 PM
Midwest Head Huggers
6:30 PM
A Visit from Santa!
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
6:00 PM
Dollar Store Makeovers- Christmas Silver Tray
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today
No more events today

Ellis staff recommends several exciting wartime stories for your summer reading! Code name Lise : the true story of World War II's most highly decorated woman by Larry Loftis. This book tells the story of Odette Sansom, the real British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II. It’s perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat, and Code Girls. Interested in World War I?  Try this book with a Michigan connection: Polar Bear Expedition : the heroes of America's forgotten invasion of Russia, 1918-1919 by James Carl Nelson.  It’s the story of America's invasion of Russia: one-thousand miles north of Moscow, five-thousand brave U.S. troops from Michigan fought the Red Army during the winter of 1918-1919 in brutal arctic conditions. And, you may also enjoy an inspiring and touching war story, Silent night : the story of the World War I Christmas truce by Stanley Weintraub. On Christmas Eve of 1914, the Great War had been raging for several months…a small miracle emerged: across the No Man's Land, the sounds of "Silent Night" floated, and, for a short time, soldiers on both sides spontaneously laid down their arms, exchanged gifts, and celebrated together.

For history buffs, Publisher’s Weekly says about Joseph J. Ellis’ Revolutionary summer : the birth of American Independence, “…now the definitive book on the revolutionary events of the summer of 1776. Ellis's prose is characteristically seductive, his insights frequent, his sketches of people and events captivating…” 

Do you enjoy speculative fiction?  This title is a thriller with a touch of satire.  The Oracle Year by Charles Soul is about bassist Will Dando, who awakens to find he can predict future events.  He and a friend decide to slowly disclose this information online as “The Oracle.”  The world becomes obsessed with the Oracle's posts.  Some people like him and others don’t.  Unmasking the Oracle's identity becomes the prime objective worldwide. On the run from those seeking to kill him or exploit his knowledge, Dando realizes that all the predictions are somehow connected and that someone-or something-could be orchestrating the end of the world.  Booklist calls it “a dark, rollicking tale.”

More of a fantasy reader?  Try the young adult novel Caraval by Stephanie Garber.  When Scarlett’s ruthless father arranges her marriage, she believes she will never be allowed to participate in the annual Caraval performance. But, Scarlett receives the invitation she has always dreamed of before her sister, Tella, is kidnapped by the show's mastermind organizer. Ellis staff say “It’s exciting and good!”

Events happening at Ellis this week:

Ellis Fanta-Sci Book Club meets Wednesday, July 31 at 7:00 pm.  Do you love Science Fiction and Fantasy? Join us as we read adult and young adult books on hidden worlds, mythological creatures, alternate histories, and possible futures.

New members are always welcome. Stop in to Ellis or call/email Jenn McCarty to request a copy of this month’s book to be delivered to your branch of choice. This month’s book is The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch.

QA with I Love a Mystery Book Club

  • Tell us about your group: Our club first met in September 2001 at the Ellis Library with four people. We find reading both simulating and relaxing. We always have room for new people and would like seeing anyone joining our group!
  • What's your favorite thing about mysteries? Plot twists make you think. Often we see more than one plot line in a mystery story. Plus it's all about the puzzle! Reading mysteries is a test of cognitive skills.
  • What makes for a good mystery? Well developed characters, a good plot and interesting setting, and great writing style.
Suggest Your Group